Inspiration Station

It was a freaking New Year’s to remember. I rang in the New Year with my best gal pal, Alexandria, sequins and all for Tiesto, which be still my heart, that man is a blast! I was told that you could pick me out of the crowd by my sequined tunic, so I have officially achieved being a human disco ball (YES). The following day which turned into evening I hung out in my neighborhood celebrating another successful year of Mummer traditions on 2nd Street and I wouldn’t have wanted to ring in 2013 any other way.

I’ve been seeing a lot of inspiration and resolutions in the blogosphere lately, which got me to thinking… what am I doing to get myself ready for the New Year? Well after a few skims through my favorite blogs I have narrowed down the following areas:

Health: I’m not sure if I have announced this yet, but I will be participating in the Broad Street Run this year with Alexandria! We were able to sign up early for the BSR through Fund-Racing. I must raise $500 for the charity and of course train for this staple 10 mile run in May. Well, I hate running, but this run is on my Philadelphia bucket list of things to do, so why not? I have a special place in my heart for charities so “racing” the money will be no problem and will finally be my push to get fit and hopefully maintain a gym lifestyle. Check out this article from Refinery 29 for “Work Out Gear You’ll Actually Want To Wear”

Beauty: I have a pretty solid morning routine when it comes to my skin care. I only use moisturizer and concealer that has at least SPF 20 in it. I always carry chapstick and lip gloss according to my outfit and I make sure always carry a mint on me. 2012 was the year of embracing lipstick, liquid eyeliner, buying a makeup brush set and painting my nails weekl However in 2013 – I probably should learn how to do my hair. I was born with naturally straight hair and over time it has become a little more wavy, which I could easily curl if I ever taught myself how. I have committed to bangs and an ombre in the past, so this year I can commit to curling my hair. Thanks to how to blogs like The Beauty Department any questions that I may have, I can go to. This beauty section was also inspired by Chi City Fashion’s blog post today “Let’s Get Pretty”

Travel: Blogs similar to Because I’m Addicted by Geri Hirsch really really make me miss Los Angeles. I have been to Southern California twice now and have had a glorious time with friends exploring LA. However, I must explore other areas of the country instead of always making trips to the same cities! I would love to make a trip for my big 2-5 birthday in October – maybe Las Vegas or Miami? I’d also like to visit Arizona where my dear friend from college, Leila, now resides. I guess you could say distance makes the heart grow fonder. I also plan on visiting my friends in New York City soon as well.

Style: Ah, yes the reason why this blog was created. Of course I want to dedicate a good amount of time to this blog, learn SEO, go to more style events in Philly, but I want to incorporate more photos of trends I actually try. I’ll have to break out of my style wallflower mode sooner or later and why not share it on here?! I love my pals over at SHOPHOUSE, Streets And Stripes and Styled Out Loud – they have the best style posts and always inspire me. I’ll also have to have Ian Michael Crumm play dress up with me on occasion.

One thought on “Inspiration Station

Leave a Reply

